3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Tree stand height  (Read 2487 times)

Online chefrvitale

• Trad Bowhunter
Tree stand height
« on: November 15, 2020, 07:57:54 AM »
Hi guys, im looking for others to share experience with stand height.
I typically hang low stands in thick cover but I'm hunting mature hardwood right now with straight tall trees and virtually no cover.
Yesterday every deer gave me a suspicious look and seemed uneasy as they passed by.
From my experience uneasy deer jump string.
Im contemplating going 25-30 feet but I don't know if it will help.
With no movement, thermals and wind carefully considered every deer looked right at me.... it was similar to ground hunting.
I have been hunting for 20 years, only used a longbow my entire life and never fail to fill my tag my woodsmanship is appropriate.
But the fact they see me is making me reluctant to draw, do any of you hunt high stands? Pros and cons please

Offline mec lineman

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Tree stand height
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2020, 08:06:27 AM »
By any chance are you using reflective wraps on your arrows? White to be specific
"Pick a spot,now aim 6" lower!"                        
Caribow taiga ex
Tall Tines Stickflinger
Yellowstone Halfbreed

P.B.S  member

Offline Bowwild

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2020, 08:11:00 AM »
As you already know, the terrain and cover influence the height.

In my 51 years of bowhunting I've been at 10 feet (cedar trees or multi-stemmed hardwoods (cover) and nearly 30.  The 30' was a fluke, the tree I wanted to be in, near a button-bush swamp had a perfect limbs and cover at that spot.

I prefer, about 15' because the higher I go the steeper the shot angle and tighter elliptical kill zone.