3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: ThreeToelke whips @43+  (Read 1426 times)

Offline thump

• Trad Bowhunter
ThreeToelke whips @43+
« on: December 06, 2020, 12:59:06 PM »
Two and a half years after shoulder surgery acquired 3 toelkes have had them refinished and they're all pulling 43 pounds at my 27 inch draw. I've been making wooden arrows for 25 years, I'm getting kind of nervous that I'm going to have to go to carbon arrows , my last set of Woody's I just made came out at 473 grains with 150 grains up front they fly perfect, how much of a improvment will the carbons make?
« Last Edit: December 06, 2020, 03:49:18 PM by thump »

Offline Jim Wright

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: ThreeToelke whips @43+
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2020, 05:59:16 PM »
Out of curiosity why would you need to go to carbons and what improvement might they offer if your wood arrows are flying perfectly?

Offline thump

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2020, 06:11:50 PM »
Wondering if carbons improve penetration even if all variables are the same except for diameter of the shaft.

Offline ESP

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2020, 06:28:29 PM »
I am not a wood guy but will say unless you are trying efoc you won’t be able to tell a difference.  If they are flying straight and you like them, go kill things.

Offline Terry Green

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2020, 10:03:20 PM »
No worries... the weight of the shaft is way more important than efoc.... Let me put it this way, you aren't going to have any negative side effects. 

Just have fun....  :campfire:
Tradbowhunting Video Store - https://digitalstore.tradgang.com/

Tradgang Bowhunting Merchandise - https://tradgang.creator-spring.com/?