3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Setting a clicker  (Read 3413 times)

Offline Tdaniels

• Trad Bowhunter
Setting a clicker
« on: December 13, 2020, 09:18:42 AM »
 I’m new to clickers , but would like to try one on a 58” whistler . My question is , where do you want it to click? At the very end of expansion or sooner ? Thanks for the previous help too !

Offline knobby

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Setting a clicker
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2020, 09:31:47 AM »
It takes a little tinkering to get it just right but ultimately you want it to click at full expansion. It's a very fine line but worth the effort to get it right.

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2020, 10:24:05 AM »
As Knobby stated, clickers were designed to be used as a trigger for the shot: when you reach full expansion, the clicker goes off and you automatically release the shot without thinking about it.  This is how a person who uses a dynamic release would use a clicker.

However, clickers are also useful as a draw check: to ensure that you have reached full draw, and don't creep.  If you creep, the clicker will click again on the way down.  This is most useful for those who use a dead release, where there is no backward movement of the arrow at the point of release.  The shooter draws the bow and expands until the clicker clicks.  After the clicker clicks, the shooter locks off and holds without losing back tension until the shot is released via a subconscious release or some kind of external non-anticipatory psychotrigger.
TGMM Family of the Bow

Technology....the knack of arranging the world so that we don't have to experience it.

Offline Shug

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2021, 12:02:14 AM »