3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Where were the "How-to books" on bow building when I was a kid?  (Read 700 times)

Offline Si

• Trad Bowhunter
Where were the "How-to books" on bow building when I was a kid?
« on: January 31, 2021, 01:12:49 PM »
I have been making self-bows for 20 years but had it on my mind in 1957 as a farm kid in Kansas with oodles of Osage. My oldest books are from the 50's and only one ( The complete book of archery) had some how-to stuff in it like Tom Jennings making a Laminated Smithwick clone for Kittredge Bow Hut. At this point, I have quite a collection of Archery books and the only ones that have some "how-to" in them are  "Hunting with a bow and arrow by Saxton Pope 1923 for making a Yew bow" and "Archery Tackle- how to make it and use it by Adolph Shane 1936 that did have Osage instructions like following the grain". As a farm kid, my source of information was mainly from outdoor magazines. Some friends who saw saw me playing with my Lemonwood bow would say, " you should make one out of Hedge (Osage). I was very interested but when I asked about the How , they would say things about cutting a piece of Osage and sink it in a flowing stream to season it?? Anyway, I missed out on a lot with all the hedge posts setting around so I guess I didn't dig deep enough. Any other old guys out there with similar stories?

Online BAK

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Where were the "How-to books" on bow building when I was a kid?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2021, 01:17:37 PM »
I wonder if old George Herter sold anything on that back in the day.  Seems like he had about everything a kid could dream of.   :shaka:
"May your blood trails be short and your drags all down hill."

Offline Deno

• Trad Bowhunter