3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Indiana Turkey Hunters, HELP!!!  (Read 365 times)

Offline b.glass

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Indiana Turkey Hunters, HELP!!!
« on: April 24, 2008, 10:41:00 AM »
I have been trying for years to get a turkey on publlic ground. My son was drawn to hunt the Mississinewa resevoir these first three days of the season. I'm trying to help him. I thought getting in on the first of the season would make a big difference. We did hear 2 gobblers and saw one strutter but none would come to my calling. It seems that it is spooking them. I am completely self taught and don't have any mentoring to know what I could be doing differently. Are all the birds in Indiana this spooky or if I were to go to the southern area of the state would I have better luck. Cause it seems luck is my only hope but I've never been a lucky person.
 :confused:
B.Glass, aka Mom, aka Longbowwoman
Gregory R. Glass Feb. 14th, 1989-April 1st, 2007; Forever 18.
TGMM Family of The Bow
Mark 5:36 "Don't be afraid, just believe".

Online Hood

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Indiana Turkey Hunters, HELP!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2008, 12:42:00 PM »
I'm in the NorthEast part of the state and seem to experience about the same thing. I just try to set up where they travel and put decoys out so they can see them. The toms seem to come in when they see a jake/hen setup, but will ignore my calling for the most part.
All the world's indeed a stage and we are merely players.
Performers and portrayers, each another's audience.

Offline John Nail

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2008, 01:29:00 PM »
PM sent
Is it too late to be what I could have been?

Offline BleekLight

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2008, 02:58:00 PM »