3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Wild Turkey Fletchings - DIY  (Read 2315 times)

Offline Mad Bear

• Trad Bowhunter
Wild Turkey Fletchings - DIY
« on: February 17, 2021, 09:52:53 PM »
Good to finally post. Very long time lurker here on this great site.

Just want to introduce myself. Mad bear is my username, mad because my wife thinks I am a mad scientist with arrows. Bear as it is the traditional clan animal of my family, and a nod to the great Fred Bear.

I hunt up in Canada with a traditional hybrid longbow. My current bow is a beauty. A bearpaw mohawk hunter hybrid longbow. 13” riser. I grew up a meat hunter and continue that today.

Always have looked up to modern bowhunters like Fred Asbell, Ron LeClair, Fred Eichler, and of course myself. And the greats who all came before me. It is an honour to call myself a bowmen. I grew up reading articles in trad bowhunter and trad world, prim archery. So many great men and women before me who paved the way.

The reason for my post is I would like to share with everyone a quick guide on how I process wild turkey feathers for fletchings using only hand tools. With spring around the corner I thought it would be a good time to show people how to make some unique trophies.

I know I am preaching to the choir here, you guys probably have a lot more experience than I. I just enjoy bowhunting and sharing knowledge, and helping others build great arrows. I will continue making traditional bow hunting content just for the love of it. I appreciate everyones time for reading this and if you happen to view the video, thank you kindly. Means a lot.

Take care, and good luck on all your upcoming hunts. Looking forward to finally posting around here. Thanks everyone.

Offline Ray Lyon

• TG HALL OF FAME