3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Help for Twisted Limb  (Read 3524 times)

Offline jdavis044

• Trad Bowhunter
Help for Twisted Limb
« on: March 25, 2022, 02:58:52 PM »
New to this forum and looking for help.  I recently received a beautiful emerald green Bear Kodiak recurve bow from the 1960s via an estate sale, and unfortunately it has a twisted limb.  I am completely new to the world of bows and am looking for a professional in either the Eastern Washington, North Idaho, or Western Montana who has the skill to fix it.  Any help is appreciated.  Thanks!

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Help for Twisted Limb
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2022, 04:50:22 PM »
Welcome to TradGang!

Limb twist is fairly common with recurve bows.  Most people who shoot recurve bows are aware of this, and check the limbs for twist frequently.  If limb twist is caught in the early stages, the limb can be reverse twisted until it is straight and the bow can continue to be used indefinitely.  Anything more than a mild twist that would be difficult to see at a glance means that there has been damage to the structural integrity of the wood, and there will be a tendency for the twist to recur more and more often in the future.  Trying to repair it would be like trying to repair a piece of metal that has metal fatigue.  The only permanent repair that I am aware of would be to rebuild the damaged limb, which would be possible if it were a takedown limb, but not practical for a one piece bow.