3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: A bumpy journey  (Read 800 times)

Offline Sam McMichael

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
A bumpy journey
« on: August 19, 2022, 12:40:52 PM »
My story is probably like a large number of folks here. Not growing up in a hunting family, I learned by trial and error with great emphasis on error. Even though I had been familiar with the bow, like so many young guys, I got all wrapped up in the boom of the rifle. I just had to have a cabinet full of them. Still, it took a while before I started killing deer with any regularity.

It was during this time that I became a hunter. I studied and read all kinds of material on hunting the whitetail deer. However, it took a while before I started to see success. However, I didn't forget the bow altogether. I bought a Ben Pearson recurve in 1969 on sale at K-Mart. I bet a lot of you guys don't remember K-Mart, but it was my go-to store for "hunting stuff".

Finally, after many failures, things picked up. Even though I shot and cleanly missed 7 times that morning, I was still pumped. I slipped out of the woods and went back to town to get more arrows. I returned to the same location. After a while, a buck came along and offered a shot. A HIT! Man, was I excited. After twenty minutes or so I checked for blood but didn't find any. Luckily, I had thorough knowledge of the land, so I had a pretty good idea where he was likely to go. After about 80 yards, I found him. He was beautiful! He had 10 points and an even rack. At that moment I felt neither Howard Hill nor Robin Hood had anything on me.