3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: arrow snapped while shooting  (Read 147 times)

Offline BleekLight

• Trad Bowhunter
arrow snapped while shooting
« on: May 08, 2008, 08:11:00 PM »
I was just out side shooting my barta longbow 55# @ 28" I draw 27 1/4 my arrows are beman Ics bow hunters  
500's I have I think 145 grain tips on them. Well I drew back and loosed my arrow but immediately my arrow took flight to the left, toward a tree before it veered again and went straight down in the ground where I found it snapped and the cock feather was completely missing. I just started shooting with the cock (odd) feather in and it seems to improve my groupings but I was wandering if the arrow could some how have snap due to this.
---------------------------------
I shot an arrow into the air,
It fell to earth, I knew not where;
For, so swiftly it flew, the sight
Could not follow it in its flight.

Offline R.W.

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: arrow snapped while shooting
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 08:35:00 PM »
Is the nock still in one piece, or is it broken?

Sounds like the nock may have broken, causing the erratic flight.

If the nock is complete, is there a chance that you may have hit this arrow with another, during a shooting session? Most carbon arrows are pretty tough, and just releasing an arrow from your bow shouldn't have caused it to break.

You should always check your arrows for cracks, splits, etc, every time you shoot them.

Glad you weren't hurt, anyways!

Shoot Safe!

Offline BleekLight

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2008, 08:40:00 PM »