3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Easton Full Metal Jackets--I was wrong!  (Read 620 times)

Offline Steve O

• Trad Bowhunter
Easton Full Metal Jackets--I was wrong!
« on: May 11, 2008, 08:34:00 AM »
In the past, I have always pooh-poohed the idea of the FMJ.  In my mind, why take something that inherently will not bend (carbon) and sandwich it in something that will bend (aluminum).  I figured it was just great marketing ploy from Easton so the bowhunter could spend more money on more fragile shafts.

Back in February, I bought a 1/2 dozen Black FMJs for turkey hunting...I figured they are the same grains/inch as my MFX Classics and they don't need to be durable for the birds anyway.   So, I started shooting them and was impressed.  They stood up to a lot of stump shooting and they are very straight arrows!  Plus they match the inside of the blind and look so cool all fletched in black    ;)   .  So then I found a deal on some camo ones and have been shooting them almost exclusively.  Still have not bent one stump shooting and purposely trying to hurt them.

So this week, I did a little test...

Full length 340 shafts tune real well out of my 55# Silvertip with 125g heads or my 53-54# Longbows with 260g heads.  As there was a Michigan Longbow event this weekend, I was shooting one of the latter this week.

First I screwed on a 260g (135g + 125g steel insert) Judo point and shot it into the rump of one of our "bionic" deer (1/2 steel plate with a hole for the vital).  This split the ferrule of the Judo from bottom to top.  No harm to the FMJ.