3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I am SO lost!  (Read 434 times)

Offline kyhuntertoo

• Trad Bowhunter
I am SO lost!
« on: May 11, 2008, 10:55:00 AM »
I just started shooting a recuve about 2 weeks ago.  Fifty pound Bear Kodiak Supreme.  I feel like I'm already getting used to the draw and the weight.  I have 2 2117's, 2 Gold Tip 5575's (trad, wood grain finish), a 2016, a 2314, and a 2413.  All are cut to 29" and tipped with 145 grain points and 5 inch feathers.  The shafts range in weight from 470 to 570 I shot quite a bit yesterday, trying to see which arrow flies the best, but i just don't know what i'm looking for. I'm just to inconsistent right now to move forward with a particular shaft.  I'll put an arrow or two in the bullseye, then the next one will miss by a foot.  I'll never get good groups because of the different weights and spining plus I'm still too new.  The 2016 seems to fly pretty well but it's one of the lightest.  I just feel like I can't concentrate on getting good groups because my point of aim is different because of the weight differences. I need to go ahead and make a choice but all of my "results" are not consistent.  Any suggestions?

Offline laddy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: I am SO lost!
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2008, 11:11:00 AM »
The guys will need the marked draw length to the far side of the bow.  If your draw is short or long could make a big difference on these shaft sizes.  If it is shorter than 28'' you could be over spined on every arrow.  The 2016 would be the closest.

Offline kyhuntertoo

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2008, 11:12:00 AM »
i don't know what the "marked" draw lenght is.  the arrows are cut to 29 and they are hanging over the shelf about 1.5 inches.

Offline STIKNSTRINGBOW