3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: SIMPLE & CHEAP TARGET!  (Read 326 times)

Offline LURP DOG

• Trad Bowhunter
SIMPLE & CHEAP TARGET!
« on: May 14, 2008, 03:26:00 PM »
I've been shooting wheelies for about 30 years and have finally decided to go simple and try Traditional bows.

Because I use to shoot my wheelie at work and didn't want to buy an extra target or bring mine from home I decided to build one.
I started with a large,thick cardboard box and fill it with shrink wrap plastic. The kind that companies wrap pallets when shipping stuff by trucks.
I put as much as I could get the box and seal it up with tape. Not only does it stop an arrow but is light as well and disposable.
I've shoot 65# wheelies at it and the arrows will not go thru. Once the box is shot up on one side I turn it and start on another side. Once the box is shot up I just get a new one. No cost involved and it works GREAT!

I just started to shoot my Old BEAR Polar recurve at one and it REALLY works good on it as is slower that my wheelies.

HAPPY HUNTING
DAVID
"there's more fun in hunting with the handicap of the bow than there is in hunting with the sureness of the gun."
FRED BEAR

Offline Justin Falon

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: SIMPLE & CHEAP TARGET!
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 05:13:00 PM »
I just did the same thing about 2 weeks ago.  So far, it's holding up very well and I think it will probably last longer than a store bought target that you have to throw away when you've worn it out.  Stop spending money and just shoot!
Hill

Offline Kip

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2008, 05:23:00 PM »
I get a lot of shrink wrap and build them also just don't let the rain catch them.Kip

Offline archenemy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2008, 05:24:00 PM »