Author Topic: Building a quiet/efficient bow  (Read 1091 times)

Online Smguinnip

• Trad Bowhunter
Building a quiet/efficient bow
« on: August 25, 2023, 05:24:41 PM »
I am new to bow building (built a handful of Kenny’s d/r bows and they shoot well) so now I would like to try my own design. The question that I have is: what do I need to focus on while trying to design a glass d/r longbow that help make the finish product quiet and efficient? As I understand, a heavy/dense riser and limb timing are important but I am sure that there are other thing to keep in mind. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.
caught between:If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it and can’t leave well enough alone.

Offline Crooked Stic

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Building a quiet/efficient bow
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2023, 09:16:02 PM »
Limb timing is most important. After the shot both back to brace at the same time. Kenny's designs are hard to beat. You might play with riser length to see what you like. The shortest working limb to suit your draw length is best in my opinion.
High on Archery.

Online Smguinnip

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2023, 08:57:20 AM »
Yes, I am very impressed with how well Kenny’s design performs, especially with my limited ability. Would the shape of the fades have any effect on the performance of a bow? Long and gradual vs short and steep? And with the limbs, narrow and thicker vs wide and thinner?
caught between:If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it and can’t leave well enough alone.

Online kennym

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2023, 09:50:07 AM »
You can try a hardwood I beam riser to reduce riser flex, and G10 for that is even better. If the riser is flexing that isn't helping performance.

More reflex helps performance to a point, then I have trouble being accurate with it if you get too far. 

I like long fades, I hate to see a bow bending (hingey) hard off the blunt riser.  Has to shorten bow's life.