Author Topic: Water Base Finish for a laminated bow?  (Read 809 times)

Offline derekdiruz

• Trad Bowhunter
Water Base Finish for a laminated bow?
« on: December 13, 2023, 07:38:01 PM »
I currently spray Krystal, however as I'm prepping for another order, I just was thinking about exploring other options. Lacquer has it's obvious drawbacks, regarding spraying, ventilation, etc. Benefits though, regarding finish quality.

As a full time woodworker, I've used waterborne finishes a LOT. Are there any that are flexible enough to work with bows? I'm not opposed to epoxy style finishes either, but would moreso like to try water base if possible.

After reading the search results, doesn't seem so, but I thought I'd ask again to see if something changed.

Offline Longcruise

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Water Base Finish for a laminated bow?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2023, 04:36:21 PM »
I used water-based wipe on poly ones and it worked okay but I never did expose it to a lot of weather.
"Every man is the creature of the age in which he lives;  very few are able to raise themselves above the ideas of the time"     Voltaire

Offline derekdiruz

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2023, 07:03:51 PM »
No issues with cracking or crazing?

Online Kirkll

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2023, 08:51:56 PM »
Helmsman water base spar varnish is Excellent exterior material. I used some on some outdoor furniture that has seen two seasons of UV rays, and rain. I only put them away from december to March.

I used a spray gun to apply it.  You will have no issues with flexibility on bow limbs.   

Personally i use an Auto clear coating for its durability and clarity on all my bows. i shoot a high gloss material to get more solids, and use a high pressure mist for a fine matt finish that comes out more like satin and very little reflective values for hunting bows.

Kirk
Big Foot Bows
Traditional Archery
[email protected]
http://bigfootbows.com/b/bows/