3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Wood or carbon?  (Read 3792 times)

Offline Mole trapper

• Trad Bowhunter
Wood or carbon?
« on: March 03, 2024, 11:22:45 AM »
Hi all,
As a newbie I am binge watching a lot of trad hunting videos , I notice a lot if guys are using woods, is this because they are more effective? Or because of a purist approach being that they are using a wooden bow? I only currently have carbons, but not averse to trying woods  in fact I rather fancy the idea

Offline bowbender1

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Wood or carbon?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2024, 12:23:19 PM »
Not sure if you're talking arrows, bows, or both. Certainly for both they are more "traditional". For arrows if you've never shot woodies they're worth a try. Absolutely nothing wrong with carbon limbs or arrows. It is just your choice and preference. I used to hand make all my woodies and enjoyed shooting and using them. I have shot them all and to me the only important thing is that the arrow is tuned to your bow and flies straight. Have fun and experiment.

Offline Mole trapper

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2024, 01:35:30 PM »
Thank you for your reply.  I'm sorry I probably didn't make myself clear,  I did mean arrows .

Online dnovo

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2024, 01:47:40 PM »