3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Blemishes on new bow  (Read 3483 times)

Offline Grumpyfoot

• Trad Bowhunter
Blemishes on new bow
« on: April 11, 2024, 11:03:58 AM »
I’ve been shooting vintage Ben Pearson bows since I started shooting traditional about 7 years ago. I’ve always wanted a Bear Grizzly, but could never justify spending the money on a bow I don’t “need.”

I finally ordered the bow I’ve always wanted from 3 Rivers, a 50# Bear Super Grizzly. It’s better than I expected. Shoots where I’m looking and I couldn’t be happier.

There is a blemish on the back of the bow at the bottom of the riser, the width of the bow about 1 1/2 inches long. Looks like a sanded area that didn’t get completely smoothed out before clear coating. You can’t feel it or see it when there’s a glare on it.

Let me say, I don’t care about the blemish. Its character in my opinion, and although I’ve only shot the bow about 25 times, it doesn’t seem to effect performance.

I’m just curious, is this common? Has any one else seen this? Is there any reason for me to be concerned?

Grumpy

Online Pine

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Blemishes on new bow
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2024, 11:09:33 AM »
I think it's OK but you might post this on the bowyer's bench and see what they say.
It's easier to fool someone than to convince them they have been fooled. Mark Twain

If you're afraid to offend, you can't be honest.

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline buckeyebowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2024, 11:16:40 AM »