3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Female Beginner  (Read 1063 times)

Offline Sarah

• Trad Bowhunter
Female Beginner
« on: June 01, 2008, 09:16:00 AM »
Hi everyone!

I'm quite new to this. I've been interested in archery forever, but never found the opportunity to start. I recently moved to northern Iowa for a summer job and when I found out that my room mates all bowhunt, I knew it was time to try. I located a local man who started the archery in schools program and yesterday he gave me a free lesson with his genesis (compound) bows. As I expected, he suggested that I buy my own equipment ASAP.

This guy happens to be a Hoyt dealer, and so we discussed compound options. I didn't bring up the fact that I am more interested in learning on a recurve, but the more I thought about it afterwards, the more I'd like to learn on a recurve. (Eventually I'd like to be able to hunt with whatever bow I purchase...once I'm good enough)

I haven't heard back from the guy about his suggestions, I know Hoyt makes two hunting recurves, but I think they may be a little out of my league.

So, I'm a 20 yr. old female, 5'3" tall, right-handed, and have a 26" draw length. I figure something in the range of 35-40# would be good because then I could eventually hunt deer with it.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a good bow for me?

The price I was quoted for all the compound stuff I would need is $600, so if I could get all the recurve equipment for less than that I'd be a happy camper.

Thanks!

Offline Ybuck

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Female Beginner
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2008, 09:30:00 AM »
Welcome!
Great Tree makes some great starter bows, at a nice price(3 rivers archery).