3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: cheap and expensive bows  (Read 909 times)

Offline axehind

• Trad Bowhunter
cheap and expensive bows
« on: June 03, 2008, 10:09:00 PM »
Disclaimer: I am new to shooting recurves.

I shot a few recurve bows a couple of weeks ago. Some were in the $500 range and some in the $200 range. To be honest, besides the grips and poundages of them, I couldnt really tell the differences when shooting them. So I wanted to ask all you traditional experts, what separates good bows from bad ones? Is it speed? Hand shock? wood quality?

Thanks
axehind
The most heinous and the most cruel crimes of which history has record of has been committed under the cover of religion or equally noble motives.

Offline 30coupe

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: cheap and expensive bows
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2008, 10:11:00 PM »
Yes!
Kanati 58" 44# @ 28" Green glass on a green riser
Bear Kodiak Magnum 52" 45# @ 28"
Bodnik Slick Stick longbow 58" 40# @ 28"
Bodnik Kiowa 52" 45# @ 28"
Kanati 58" 46# @ 28" R.I.P (2007-2015)
Self-made Silk backed Hickory Board bow 67" 49# @ 28"
Bear Black Bear 60" 45# @28"
NRA Life Member

Offline horatio1226

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2008, 10:12:00 PM »
Don't forget purdiness!

"So long as the moon returns to the heavens in a bent, beautiful arc, so long will the fascination with archery in man lasts."

Offline 30coupe

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2008, 10:25:00 PM »
Not to be a wiseguy, but it is all of the things you list, though speed may be less important.

Honestly, a lot of it is mental. If you think it's a better bow because you paid more for it, you might shoot more often and consequently shoot better.