3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Unheard of Fletching problem  (Read 642 times)

Offline Tall Paul

• Trad Bowhunter
Unheard of Fletching problem
« on: June 09, 2008, 11:48:00 PM »
I recently received some arrows from a professional arrowsmith.  I've been shooting feathers for 25 years and never had this particular problem before.

These arrows (like all my others) were ordered with three 5" feathers, left wing, helical twist.  I'm right-handed, shooting the same recurve for ten years.

Here's the problem:  when the arrow is on the string, looking from the shooters perspective, there is one feather up (paralell with string) and two feathers down.

All I've ever seen, or shot, is cock feather out and two hens against the riser.  With broadheads (wensels) they fly poorly.

The arrowsmith says he's confused.  I e-mailed him, talked on the phone, and faxed diagrams.  He calls it cock feather out, but it nails the shelf and , I believe, causes erratic arrow flight.

Opinions?

Thanks, Paul
Is a life of rice cakes really life, or just passing time?-Rick Bragg

Offline Jerry Jeffer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Unheard of Fletching problem
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2008, 11:56:00 PM »
Doesn't sound right to me.
I will give thanks to the LORD because of his righteousness and will sing praise to the name of the LORD Most High.

Offline Nor'easter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2008, 12:03:00 AM »
If they're 3 fletch @ 120 you can adjust nocks to cock feather out.  If they're glue on's, sounds like nocks where put on wrong.  Either way ( glue on's or tunable nocks) it should be an easy fix.
60" Border Ultra hexIV 58@28
60" Border Ultra hexV 53@28
58" Robertson FatalStyk 52@28

Offline pointy sticks

• Trad Bowhunter