3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Broadheads... how wide is too wide?  (Read 945 times)

Offline The Baron

• Trad Bowhunter
Broadheads... how wide is too wide?
« on: June 23, 2008, 09:35:00 AM »
I'm a newbie to bowhunting.  I am looking for a broadhead for turkey hunting and I wanted to find the widest cut possible to hopefully avoid the bird getting very far.  I am looking at Simmons Tree Sharks with the bleeder blades in (190 gr.).  These are a 2" cut - awesome!  But, is that too wide?  A well placed 2" broadhead should be devastating, but can I expect such a wide blade to fly well?  How about penetration on a turkey?

Same Q. for deer?  I'm shooting a longbow, drawing about 52# at 29", with about a 500gr. total weight/31" carbon arrow.  Can I expect a 2" wide broadhead get full penetration on a deer, out to say 20 yards, or is that just too wide to expect pass through with a moderate draw-weight setup?  If a wide broadhead is indeed good for turkeys, should I go to a more modest width head for deer?
You can't be a leader of you don't know where you're going.

Offline RC

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Broadheads... how wide is too wide?
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2008, 12:08:00 PM »
The simmons will work good on turkeys. for deer I believe I would go with an Interceptor or my choice a Magnus I.RC

Offline indianalongbowshooter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2008, 07:46:00 PM »