3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: strung or unstrung...  (Read 426 times)

Offline shade seeker

• Trad Bowhunter
strung or unstrung...
« on: July 02, 2008, 11:44:00 AM »
I like to try to shoot a min of 50 arrows every other day, if nothing else to keep my form on. Ok I'll admit it I just have to shoot every other day or I get grumpy!
Question? As a newbie I'm concerned about whether or not I should keep my bows (CM Hunter 2 and Falcon Special -- 55 and 45lbs) strung or unstrung.
AND if strung is ok and not damaging to the bows is there a good way and a bad way of how they shoud be stored when they are not in use?

shade seeker

Offline tg2nd

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: strung or unstrung...
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2008, 11:58:00 AM »
In my opinion it's better to unstring them after shooting. Store them either horizontally on two pins or vertical hanging from the string.
German by birth, Bavarian by the grace of god

Offline Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2008, 12:01:00 PM »
I agree with tg, though a lot of folks will tell you they let their bows strung for years with no ill effects.

Offline MJB

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2008, 12:33:00 PM »
If your shooting every other day I would leave them strung. More damage can be done un stringing and re stringing. Just my opinion.
A Gobbler yelp Spring or Fall is a long conversation.

Offline LEOPARD

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2008, 12:40:00 PM »
I'm with MJB on this... If you're going to leave a bow for an extended length of time without shooting it, I would unstring it. But if you're shooting it often, leave it strung!  :D
Nigel Ivy

"The more I practice, the luckier I get...."

Offline Frank Warnke