3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Lone Wolf Sticks  (Read 1456 times)

Offline Curveman

• Trad Bowhunter
Lone Wolf Sticks
« on: July 11, 2008, 01:28:00 PM »
I have a Lone Wolf Alpha Elite stand. Anyone have any experience with the "regular" sticks versus the minis and can advise?

Thanks
Steve
Compliance Officer MK,LLC
NRA Life Member

Offline ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Lone Wolf Sticks
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2008, 01:36:00 PM »
I am not aware of "mini's.  I have been using what I THINK are regular sticks for several years now (three steps each ,  maybe 24" long).  

I have several.... make that numerous.. ways to get up in trees.  They have all been sitting in the shed since I got the sticks.  They take just a little practice to employ quietly, but once you have a technique down (slow.. easy does it is the major ingredient)  I can go up a tree probably as fast or faster than a climber, start to finish and definately quieter.  

I think they are the cat's meow.   I feel safe using them.  They are easy to carry.   But they are not cheap.  

I have 4 sticks and use either 3 or 4 when setting up a stand.
ChuckC

Offline Chas

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2008, 01:49:00 PM »
I only use three regular sticks. I can drop my stand, take the sticks off, hook the stand to my rope, then climb the tree with three sticks, then hang by stand in under 10 minutes. That is without rushing anything. I believe that I would like to carry one mini just to get get a little higher.

Offline MikeBurns

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2008, 03:09:00 PM »