3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: selfbow shooting help!  (Read 208 times)

Offline stick flipper

• Trad Bowhunter
selfbow shooting help!
« on: July 12, 2008, 09:10:00 PM »
I am new to a selfbow and I have been getting frustrated with my accuracy and consistency. I built my first selfbow in april of this year. It is all osage about 67" long and if it has not lossed much more draw wieght it is about 62#@29. I am needing a pep talk or some reassurance or some advise! I am also wondering how much set your selfbow limbs have taken? How much would be considered alot?

Thanks, Chris

Offline John Scifres

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: selfbow shooting help!
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2008, 09:35:00 PM »
Selfbows will take a little getting used to shooting.  Just take your time, perfect practice is a lot better than just a lot of practice.  Finding the right spine is key.  My selfbows generally spine 5-10 pounds less than the shafts say.

2-3 inches of set would be good for your first bow.  More than that and it tends to harm preformance but they atill shoot.
Take a kid hunting!

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Crimson mist

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2008, 01:46:00 AM »
One thing that help me was learning to bend my knees, lean into the shot and cant the bow more than if I was shooting a centershot glass bow

Offline brettlandon

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2008, 02:04:00 AM »
I learned you must shoot instinctively to shoot a selfbow.  The best way to determine if you are truely shooting instinctively is to shoot at night with the target illuminated from a source in front of you.  This will prevent you from gap shooting.  Welcome to the club, there's nothing like a stick and string!

-Brett