3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: tanto tip  (Read 451 times)

Offline WidowEater

• Trad Bowhunter
tanto tip
« on: July 17, 2008, 09:56:00 PM »
as i was ramming away at some more Doc Ashby reading, I became confused as to what exactly a tanto tip is.  I studied the pictures of the modified grizzlies and an ABowyer that were pictured and compared them to the new grizzlys I just got and am stumped.

Grizzlys come with a tanto tip from the factory, right?  And Doc Ashby as modified his tips on his grizzlys right?  He says the factory angle of the tip of the grizzly is about 40 degrees and that 30 degrees is ideal.  

Im curious as to how one would go about in the modification of the tip.
Silence over speed.  Heavier arrows never hurt.

Offline Featherbuster

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: tanto tip
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2008, 10:54:00 PM »
i think there might be a thread on the how to forum.
We do not inherit the Earth from our Ancestors, we borrow it from our Children. - Tribe Unknown

Southern Traditional Archery

Offline WidowEater

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2008, 11:37:00 PM »
i guess the tip just manifests itself during the sharpening process, that is changing the angle of the bevel, i still dont know what a tanto tip is defined as though

Offline NoCams

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2008, 09:55:00 AM »
A good example of a tanto tip is to look at a Magnus Stinger. It has a factory tanto tip. Also some cold steel knives have a tanto tip too.