3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Educating myself to traditional archery.  (Read 395 times)

Offline newtotrad

• Trad Bowhunter
Educating myself to traditional archery.
« on: July 17, 2008, 10:59:00 PM »
Hello,
As my board name implies I am just beginning to educate myself to traditional archery.  I live in B'ham, Al and I assume the August shoot at Tannehill would be a good place for me to get exposure to trad archery.   Are there usually vendors at these shoots? I am interested in looking at some bowyers' work. Currently, I am leaning towards a hybrid longbow design.  I definitely want to get started on the right track.  Any advice would be appreciated.

Offline George D. Stout

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Educating myself to traditional archery.
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2008, 11:22:00 PM »
The hybrids are nice....they are more like recurves than longbows in their smoothness, but they are great bows for sure.  There's a lot of folks on here from Alabamy...maybe a few of them are near you and can assist in your development.  By all means get to a traditional gathering and drink it all in.

Offline kadbow

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2008, 11:22:00 PM »
There are a lot of really high quality bows out there and a ton of info on this site.  Try to shoot several different style bows if possible.  You may want to start with something affordable or something that is easy to re-sell just to have a bow to work on basic form.  Then you can start shooting different bows and you will see and feel the differences.  Have fun!
Colorado Traditional Archers Society
Colorado Bowhunters Association
Grand Mesa Bowmen
Compton Traditional Bowhunters

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Widowbender

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter