3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Quiet bow, suddenly noisy?  (Read 1145 times)

Offline robtattoo

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Quiet bow, suddenly noisy?
« on: February 24, 2007, 12:20:00 PM »
I've been shooting my bow, with exactly the same setup for around 4 months now. Navajo hybrid, 62" 57# drawing a true 28" 14 strand FF+ double loop string fitted with wooly whispers at 9" from the tips, braced at 7-1/2" I shoot 510gn CX Terminators & they fly beatifully! The bow's been deathly quiet all this time, but over the past week or so I've noticed a lot more of a 'Twang' on release.

Any idea what could cause this sudden noise increase & any idea how to get it back to quiet?
Could it just be that I'm just getting more attuned to the bow?
"I came into this world, kicking, screaming & covered in someone else's blood. I have no problem going out the same way"

PBS & TBT Member

>>---TGMM, Family of the Bow--->

Offline JBiorn

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Quiet bow, suddenly noisy?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2007, 12:26:00 PM »
Any chance you need to re-string the bow?

Jeff

Offline robtattoo

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2007, 12:29:00 PM »
Not as far as I can see. The string's in perfect condition, as ie the serving. D'you know, I'm wondering if maybe my drawlength may have increased slightly, addinga few extra pounds to the weight, reducing my arrow/bow poundage. I'll have a quick measure & see.......
"I came into this world, kicking, screaming & covered in someone else's blood. I have no problem going out the same way"

PBS & TBT Member

Offline robtattoo

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2007, 12:35:00 PM »