3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Theoretical Carbon Question  (Read 1062 times)

Offline tmccall

• Trad Bowhunter
Theoretical Carbon Question
« on: February 24, 2007, 06:45:00 PM »
If, in theory, a guy wanted to try carbon arrows for this years 3D Season to try to gain an increase in accuracy and if this imaginary individual was currently shooting cedar arrows spined 50-55# that are 29" BOP (for a 50# bow)... What would be the best carbon arrow to use?  How do you get the weight of said arrow to match the weight of your hunting arrows?
Tony McCall

Jesus.  There is no other name...  Acts 4:12

Offline bentpole

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Theoretical Carbon Question
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2007, 07:23:00 PM »
tmccall let me just say I am new to these carbon arrows.I have shot aluminum for years I guess to me they were "easy" if youget my drift.Once you find the size you need whalla your set. I fooled around with woodys for a short time but always came back to the aluminums.I couldn't get the same accuracy out of the woodys I was using and they seemed like a lot more work.Buy some arrows go through them straighten etc etc. The last time I went to my buds trad shop he gave me a full length 35/55 gold tip traditionalwood grain full length shaft to try out of my 52# bow. My present bow shoots 1916 and 2016 aluminums equally accurately depending on the weight I put up front my groups are very very good with this bow of mine.However when I shoot that carbon into the mix it is always without a doubt closer to the bullseye.I guess the moral of the story is next season or even this spring turkey season I will be shooting carbons.By the way these Gold tip carbons are American made From what I understand they are being made in Mexico now?.So these are