3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: nock fit??  (Read 325 times)

Offline bailebr3

• Trad Bowhunter
nock fit??
« on: August 24, 2008, 08:00:00 PM »
i have a hoyt gamemaster2 using the string that came with it...the string is broken in pretty good( i shoot every other evening). i shoot xx75 2018s w/ uninocks. i just noticed how tight the nocks are. i can pull the arrow off the string but it pulls the string in towards the bow, then the arrow pops off. is it ok to sand the inside of the arrow nocks?? if so what am i looking for when done?? shouldl i be able to tap the back of the nock and it fall off the string or maybe not that much?? any helpful advice please:)
BRANDON B.
Hoyt Gamemaster II 52# @ 26"
Bear Kodiak Magnum 50# @ 26"

Offline woodslinger

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: nock fit??
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2008, 08:41:00 PM »
I like to sand my nocks so that when I tap the back of the string the arrow will drop off under its own weight. Sandpaper or my wifes emery board is what  iuse to get the job done.
Get up close and personal... hunt traditional

Offline bailebr3

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2008, 09:13:00 PM »
what grit would be suitable??
BRANDON B.

Offline Tom Anderson

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2008, 09:53:00 AM »
Originally posted by bailebr3:
what grit would be suitable??
~ 80-120 grit
(formerly "NativeCraft")
Wilson, NC

"short skirts create less drag in the woods..." (Dave Worden)

Offline jhansen

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2008, 10:59:00 AM »
I use a fine cut file.  I pinch the nock around the file and make a pass or two then check for fit.  If your nocks are that tight I'm surprised you are getting good arrow flight.

John