3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: new in town, help getting started  (Read 357 times)

Offline Double A

• Trad Bowhunter
new in town, help getting started
« on: September 01, 2008, 10:21:00 AM »
Gang,
This site is amazing, so glad I stumbled into it.  I am somewhat new to trad archery, i have a redwing hunter at 45# that i found in the rafters at the house my dad bought when i was ten, never even knew it was right handed until college when i was forced to take a gym class, one of which was archery.  i have been shooting the bow since then, and love it.  using 2018's and they seem to fly right.  i just pulled the bow out for the first time in a couple years and have been shooting for a week or so, 20 yard group in a 12 inch circle with occasional flyer.  i am very interested in becoming a better instinctive shooter and had a few questions.
1.  what does "stack" mean, in archery terms?
2.  what is an acceptable group at 20yards to warrant allowing myself to bow hunt with this bow?
3. is this bow worth anything? is it worth learning on or am i wasting my time with it?
4.  i don't use a glove or tabs, is this bad?  should i get a glove will it help accuracy?
5.  what is the max responsible range for this type of bow and poundage?
thanks gang!
Aaron

Offline blueline

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: new in town, help getting started
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2008, 10:49:00 AM »