3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: SoCal opener..first for me  (Read 444 times)

Offline Jimikinz

• Trad Bowhunter
SoCal opener..first for me
« on: September 10, 2008, 12:00:00 PM »
Well, archery deer opened here in sunny (and hot...90+!) san diego.  This is my first year trying to kill a deer, and I'm handicapping myself even further by making myself do it from the ground with a longbow!...but my first hunt was a ton of fun.  I thought I'd share some of my new excitement with you all.  I'm hooked now!

I went to an area I've been scouting and got in at dark to wait.  I never saw any deer on the trail I was watching, but I did get to see a bunch of turkeys scratching around.(so I'll be going back for that when it opens in a few weeks)
I sat for a few hours and then got bored and started walking.  I found some good sign in a few new areas and had a blast.  

On the way out,  I saw two does bedded by a creek, and tried to put on a stalk in the extra-dry and crunchy conditions, but only managed to get about 60 yards away before they busted me.  But what a rush!  I can't wait until next week!

Thanks for all the help on here...I'm looking foreward to learninga lot and hunting hard this year.

Jim
Thanks,
Jim Anderson

Offline Chaser

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: SoCal opener..first for me
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2008, 12:06:00 PM »
Sounds like a blast! Best of luck with the following week and those turkeys.
Jose =>>>>>---------->
Bear Montana longbow 52#@27"
80' Howatt Hunter 61#@27"
06' Bear Super Kodiak 57#@27"

Offline Chris Surtees

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2008, 12:33:00 PM »
Best of luck to you this year. Sounds like you had a great first hunt   :thumbsup:

Offline beachbowhunter

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter