3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Forearm slap and spraying arrows  (Read 857 times)

Offline PastorSteveHill

• Trad Bowhunter
Forearm slap and spraying arrows
« on: October 02, 2008, 07:13:00 PM »
I bare shaft tuned and got an arrows to fly perfect.... After a couple days my forearm really was tore up so I put on an armguard.  Well immediately I started shooting arrows to the left... Especially broadheads... Went back and bareshaft tuned and arrows were stiff...  Took the arm guard off and bare shafted again, Bingo.. Lasers... Shot a fletched arrow without the arm guard and perfect. Arm guard on and to the left and down we go...

I moved my brace height out to 8' ... Should only be 7 1/4 max (manufacturer says)...

Any suggestions?  It is 64' longbow/ ACS CX... Awesome bow, I really want to shoot it but I'm at a loss...

Only explanation I have is my forearms are a little big from the competitive powerlifting days, but what should I do?   Any help appreciated...
Blessings,
Steve

Offline Art B

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Forearm slap and spraying arrows
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2008, 07:37:00 PM »
The string slapping your armguard is kicking the string/arrow nock to the right thus throwing the point end of your arrow over to the left. Try gripping your handle firmer to prevent your bow from torquing. -ART B

Offline Dmaxshawn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2008, 07:50:00 PM »
Steve I have the same exact problem.  When it doesnt hit my armguard they are like lasers like you said.  

Art thanks I will give that a try.

Shawn

Online Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2008, 08:03:00 PM »