3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bare Shafting, Any Advice  (Read 326 times)

Offline jcarter

• Trad Bowhunter
Bare Shafting, Any Advice
« on: October 06, 2008, 05:54:00 PM »
Finally, ALL OF MY STUFF HAS COME IN TO BUILD MY ARROWS AND I GOT STARTED TUNING TONIGHT! In the past 20 minutes, I have broken 3 arrows.

Some would shoot "straight as an arrow" non pun intended, others a little nock high and nock left.

After each shot, I would remove the point, cut off about a 1/4in., retaper and reattach the point

Each session would show less nock left, but after two shots, my arrows would explode!

Any advice or thoughts, this is my first time with woods arrows, is this just part of the process?
Black Widow PCH 47@28 in
Black Widow PLX 59#@28 in

Offline John3

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bare Shafting, Any Advice
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2008, 06:10:00 PM »
We need some information??

What type of bow?  What pound at your draw? Tip weight? Type of nock? RH or LH draw?
What species, spine and diam. are your bare shafts? How far are you shooting from the target..? Target must be SOFT..
How high is your nock point above center?

Answer these and we can get you pointed in the right direction?
JDS III
"There is no excellence in Archery without great labor".  Maurice Thompson 1879

Professional Bowhunters Society--Regular Member
United Bowhunters of Missouri
Compton Life Member #333

Offline JRY309

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2008, 06:11:00 PM »