3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New archer - very confused - 32" draw/arrow length help  (Read 509 times)

Offline UCBerzerkeley

• Trad Bowhunter
New archer - very confused - 32" draw/arrow length help
« on: October 06, 2008, 11:11:00 PM »
edit to mods: if this should be in another forum, please move it. Otherwise....

Hi all,

So perhaps I am going about this wrong, but here goes. I literally came upon archery a few weeks ago. I am a college student and an avid fly fisherman who has always wanted to hunt.

I went straight to traditional and picked up a Ben Pearson Javelina, 66" 40@28. Apparently I draw 32", so accounting for some stack, I am shooting around 56# + (is heavy)

I am 6'5". My draw, using wingspan / 2.5, is 31". I bought 32" arrows. Looks like they are too short.

Both of these use same anchor: index in mouth, thumb knuckle behind jaw. Here is my draw so that the field point does NOT cross onto the shelf (ie broadhead would not hit riser)

Here is a more comfortable posture (straighter bow arm, it feels like my back and bone structure are take the weight). Point crosses riser, or is within 1cm. I would, if nothing else, prefer some leeway while I learn.

(thanks to Terry for the clock pictures)

Am I measuring wrong? Do I get longer arrows? Where? The easton gamegetters i bought were 32" max. Sigh. Anyone have some positive notes? Are there at least some benefits to a longer draw, besides stacking bows and arrows that are too short?

Thanks in advance. Mostly I am just confused and frustrated. It is hard being new.

Offline John3

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: New archer - very confused - 32" draw/arrow length help
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2008, 11:19:00 PM »