3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Lone Wolf strap on....?  (Read 496 times)

Offline MikeW

• Trad Bowhunter
Lone Wolf strap on....?
« on: October 07, 2008, 02:47:00 PM »
Looks like I am going to break down and buy a tree stand. Climbers are out of the question,(I climb telephone poles for a living and there is no way I would trust my life to those designs. Some of the fall arrests harnesses that come with the stands are a joke also.)

I want a lock on or a strap on with a set of climbing sticks.

Right now I am looking at these:
Family Tradition
  http://www.familytraditiontreestands.com/LockOn.html  
Game Tamer TS1
  http://www.gametamers.com/tree-stand-ts1-p-9.html?cPath=cPath  
Lone Wolf Elite
  http://www.lonewolfstands.com/shoppingcart/Products/Elite-Hang-On-Stand__EHOS.aspx  
I really like the backpack setup on the Lone Wolf but I can get a backpack for the others and strap them on that.
I am 6' and 250lbs..I want a big deck like on these models. I was just out on a friends and it was a tiny little thing, I'm use to climbing 40' at work when needed and 20'-25' is normal. His was at 25' and I was real uneasy the whole time. Didn't like it one bit. Not to mention the cloth seat tore on me and if it wasn't for the fact I tied myself off with a small piece of rope I would have came out of the thing. He told me he had a harness but when we got out there he didn't.
I took a chance and it almost cost me a serious fall...never again!