3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Another Carbon Arrow Question  (Read 1092 times)

Offline Ryan D

• Trad Bowhunter
Another Carbon Arrow Question
« on: March 01, 2007, 06:19:00 AM »
Hey Guys,

I am new to traditional archery and have a 62" 51# @ 29" 62" recurve and am wanting to try some carbon arrows.  I am shooting 2016 aluminum arrows right now.  I am thinking of trying beman 500 @ 29" w/ 100 grain inserts and 125 point.  What do you think?  Thanks for the help!

Offline Featherbuster

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Another Carbon Arrow Question
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2007, 07:16:00 AM »
fling um'
We do not inherit the Earth from our Ancestors, we borrow it from our Children. - Tribe Unknown

Southern Traditional Archery

Offline Mike Byrge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2007, 07:39:00 AM »
For me that arrow would not be stiff enough.  500 spine ST eastons with the standard insert and 125gr head are too weak for my 49@29 Bob Lee Recurve. (29.5" arrow)

The 400's or CX 250's cut to 29.5" with the standard insert and 160 points work well for me though.

Offline strick9

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2007, 08:57:00 AM »
having shot the bemans, I would agree with Mike go to the 400s ,  with the 400s you can always add weight up front to decrease spine, but with the 100 grn insert and 125 you should have some where around 522 total grn or slightly over 10gpp and should be real close right off the rip for your set up., The 500 may leave you hanging with a low weight after proper tuning.
“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing”

Offline Ryan D

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2007, 09:32:00 AM »
Thanks Guys!!!!

Offline Ryan D

• Trad Bowhunter