3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Tree stand saftey  (Read 675 times)

Offline LPM

• Trad Bowhunter
Tree stand saftey
« on: October 19, 2008, 12:50:00 PM »
Hey guys, this is my first time on the site.

Well it happened.  After 33 years of hunting from trees I finaly fell.

I'm a safe guy too.
Aviation background.....High voltage work enviornment...Working from heights....etc

I've sent myself and my daughter back out of the woods when one of us forgot our saftey harness.

Yet this time, I never thought about my harness until shortly after I hit the ground.  

I had just hung a stand and was trimming a handline....I used a dead branch for a "cutting block".  Sounds stupid, excempt for the fact that this same 3" dia branch had resisted every attempt to break it off.  I had planned to saw it off before I left.  I was kneeling on the platform facing the tree.  One light tap with a small hatchet to cut the hand line broke the bratch with the weight of my left hand on it.  It pitched me off head first. I grabbed the bottom of the stand as I went over with my left hand.  I held on for dear life but momentum and my body weight combined, tore me loose as I swung through.  It seemed like a long time before I hit the ground.

Twenty plus feet is a long way...........

I couldn't belive I had let it happen.  I checked myself for obvious signs of damage, noteing what I thought to be a foot sprain, and a couple of small cuts and a big bruise on my left elbw. My left fingers all had broken blood vessels.  Remarkably I felt pretty good.  I noticed the hatchet had fallen on the opposite side of the tree.  I sat for a while before I got up.  I made sure to thank God...My foot hurt a bit but I could walk.