3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Need advice for new to me Ben Pearson  (Read 280 times)

Offline NewtoTrad2008

• Trad Bowhunter
Need advice for new to me Ben Pearson
« on: October 22, 2008, 11:48:00 AM »
OK, as my name says I am new to this. I picked up a Ben Pearson KM Special in late spring. Hand written it says 58" AMO 50# @ 28", but above the shelf it has 52# (behind the skin). I draw right at 28# and I measured it and it is closer to 54#. The person I bought it from said he bought it new and lost interest and it has been in a closet for over 20 years. The limbs are straight and after getting a new string and some arrows I shot all summer, but I think I need a different arrow set up. The guy I got the string from set me up with some carbons (full length) and 100 grain field tips, of course I left all the info on them at home. I can shoot a pretty good group at 10 yards, but then I get all over the place at 20, I don't want to telll you what I do after that! ;)Besides a lot more practice what can you suggest for an arrow set up. Once I get confident I plan to use it for deer and elk hunting, as well as any other small game I can get after.  I love the look of wood but need the durability of carbons for now.  
By the way, the finish was in prety bad shape, so with a lot of tips from past threads I have started to refinish her as well, the first coat went on last night.
Any suggestions and insight is apprieciated.
Kanati 56" 55#@26" missing :-(
Mohawk 64" 60#@28"
Ben Pearson KM Special 50#@28"
Matt

Offline Biff

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Need advice for new to me Ben Pearson
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2008, 08:59:00 PM »