3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Huge Hogs, taste ok?  (Read 890 times)

Offline Bpaul

• Trad Bowhunter
Huge Hogs, taste ok?
« on: March 02, 2007, 06:30:00 PM »
All Dave's ginormous (yes that's a word shut up)hog pictures got me thinking.  Those big boys taste any good?  Anything to do to make em taste better?  Just curious as I'm just beginning to grow some contacts in No. Cal for pig hunting and curious minds wanna know.

Thanks ahead of time,    :archer:  

B
Except during the nine months before he draws his first breath, no man manages his affairs as well as a tree does.  
          -George Bernard Shaw

Offline **DONOTDELETE**

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Huge Hogs, taste ok?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2007, 07:02:00 PM »
Usually the big ones don't really taste as good as a little ones. But thats what I have heard. I've only killed one big one and ate it. It's ok. I hunt smaller ones now, 50-100 pounds. Great meat.

Offline bm22

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2007, 07:46:00 PM »
have have heard alot of people say that big pigs don't taste good. i think that is a crock. my dad killed a just under 200 lb. boar and it was the best pig i have ever eaten. i have heard a theory that i beleive in. it is that when there is a hot sow in the area the boars start releasing hormones that cause them to stink, and thus ruin the meat. all pigs stink on the outside but after you take the skin off and they still stink then you have a problem. a buddy of mine told me he killed a 50 lb. boar and it was rank. the meat was also disgusting. so their may be some truth to the theory.