3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: My first Traditional shot on game.. slow motion  (Read 470 times)

Offline metsastaja

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
My first Traditional shot on game.. slow motion
« on: November 03, 2008, 02:10:00 PM »
I am new to traditional archery and letting my compound gather dust.  This weekend was my second traditional hunt and the first time I have shot at live game.

3:25 pm up in the stand every things set and it is a perfect afternoon. Didn’t even break a sweat.  Temperature is mid 70’s and dropping, Wind is consistent out of the NE. Time to sit back relax and watch and listen.  

4:25 nothing but a few birds and couple trig saps , its early
5:25 see 4:25 plus one pig grunt out in the brush somewhere
6:10 must have been wool gathering cause I have a real nice rack coming in. Can not see the body but the rack is telling me “this is a good Florida deer.  

6:10-
I see the rack is moving but have not looked at the body. In one fluid motion I start the camera and stand up. He stops, my heart skips a beat and gives me the first real look at him. Confirmed he is a good deer. Slowly he walks into the camera lens and to the corn I have scattered. He begins to nibble a bit. Time to get the bow.  I reach for the bow and it is stuck. The bow will not come off the hook. Another tug. What the heck…I cannot get the bow off the hook.  Third time is a charm.  Somehow the bow tip was sitting over the airline cable that holds the platform and my lifting motion provided enough friction to prevent an easy retrieval.