3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Good buy?..Will it work?  (Read 768 times)

Offline blind one

• Trad Bowhunter
Good buy?..Will it work?
« on: November 06, 2008, 08:27:00 AM »
My Uncle has a 07 Howatt Hunter. The bow is 62", 50# @ 28". He also has a dozen cedar arrows that are fletched and uncut. I can buy both for $275.00. I'm 6'4". Will the 62" be long enouugh for my draw of a little over 29"? I'm still learning on my 40# draw but if this is a good buy and will work, I'll buy it for the future...Roy
"To die is nothing. One is here, One is no longer here. It is only at the end one must be able to say 'I was a man'"...

Offline vermonster13

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Good buy?..Will it work?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2008, 08:29:00 AM »
You shouldn't have any trouble with that bow at 29"

Though at 6'4" I am thinking you should be drawing a bit longer than 29"
TGMM Family of the Bow
For hunting to have a future, we must invest ourselves in future hunters.

Offline John Scifres

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 08:47:00 AM »
Don't overbow yourself.  You'll be drawing mid 50s at 29+.  You should be fine but do like you said and learn on the lighter bow.  Work your way into it.
Take a kid hunting!

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline blind one

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2008, 08:50:00 AM »
I think I'm drawing longer myself. That was the length they gave me at the shop. Is there anyway I can check it out at home? I'm learning with a 64" Pearson cougar. If I put a broadhead on the arrow the shortest I can go is 31" from the end of the nock to the end of the shaft. If I go any shorter the head hits the front of the bow...Thanks Roy