3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: First trad outing - lessons learned and question  (Read 182 times)

Offline Johner

• Trad Bowhunter
First trad outing - lessons learned and question
« on: November 10, 2008, 10:15:00 PM »
I am a student in a Ministry training program at a university in Arkansas.  I don't get much free time but when one of the college aged guys (I am what they call a non-traditional student which I think is code for mid-life crisis) wanted to go out squirrel hunting I couldn't refuse.  It turned out that we had picked opening day for rifle season here so I loaned him my slug gun and I took my Widow out to the woods Saturday morning.  We were hunting public ground, about 15,000 acres that I had spent about 2 hours walking around this summer.  I had seen sign all over so I figured we couldn't really go wrong.  

We got there just before sunrise and walked in on a fire road about 200 yards and then up a ridge along a tree line about 60 yards and sat down along the tree line, the area had been logged a couple of years ago and there is a large field of young trees and briars.  We sat down about 10 minutes before sunrise and within 20 minutes started to here the rifles roar.  I figured that the deer would be on the move but my bow hand was getting so cold I had to take a minute to warm it up.  I stuck my hand in my jacket pocket and Murphy's Law took over.  I saw something move out to my left and sure enough a small buck walks about 20 yard in front of me, while my bow lays at my side.