3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: tanto tip-pics-is this correct  (Read 304 times)

Offline tradwannabe

• Trad Bowhunter
tanto tip-pics-is this correct
« on: November 12, 2008, 10:51:00 PM »
Ok,
this is my first try at a grizzly with tanto tip per Dr,Ed Ashby. Does this look right??

Offline Gehrke145

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: tanto tip-pics-is this correct
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 12:04:00 AM »
When I do mine I just continue the same angle on the tip as the blade and have had great luck (kinda like the pics from ashby) not really sure what you did maybe some one with more info will step in.

Offline jrchambers

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2008, 12:16:00 AM »
it looks like you switched the side of the bevel,  there should grinding on one side only andthey meet in the midle some where

Offline Sharpster

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2008, 08:17:00 AM »
Robert,
That's an excellent first try!!! You definitely have the concept down.  :thumbsup:

On your next one try not to take quite so much off from the very tip. The pictures show a small flat at the tip. You beveled it correctly, just use a steeper angle and try to keep a point on the tanto.

I use a bench grinder and start grinding the back-bevel at the outside edge and slowly work towards the tip with a series of light touches to the stone. Watch for the slightest sign of a burr and stop as soon as you see it. You are on the right track, just try not to change the shape of the tanto.  

You could also try double beveling the tanto. Either way you might want to practice on some older heads (any brand).

I'll see if I can get some pics up this weekend. (If you don't beat me to it).  :D

Ron