3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New to traditional archery, saying hello  (Read 325 times)

Offline melsdad

• Trad Bowhunter
New to traditional archery, saying hello
« on: November 13, 2008, 08:39:00 PM »
Hello,

My name is Brian I am 34 years old I work as a supervisor in a Tool & Die shop. I am married, and have a beautiful 4½ year old daughter. My hobbies are Hunting, Camping, Knifemaking to name a few. I plan on getting into traditional archery hopeing to be ready for hunting season of 2009. I have been doing alot of blackpowder flintlock shooting at woodswalks this past year, and think that the longbow will compliment my traditional interests. I also belong to the Traditional Muzzloader Association.

I am totally new to traditional archery, and don't know exactly were to begin. I plan to hunt deer, and possibly turkey with my bow. I am after a bow with a draw weight that will cleanly kill an animal that size, but is still a pleasure to shoot for an entire afternoon. I am after a bow that is moderatly priced, not junk, but not top end either.

So a few of my questions would be:

What is a good bow for a beginner?
What draw weight should I be looking for?
What can I expect to pay for a bow?

Any other information or advice is kindly welcome

Thanks
Brian

Offline Shaun

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: New to traditional archery, saying hello
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 08:47:00 PM »
Welcome Brian!

Any bow you like the feel/look of is a good one for a beginner.

Draw wt 45 lbs is a great place to start.

Couple hundred will get you a great used bow. Check the site classifieds or get to a shoot and try out some bows at the vendors. Lots of trad folks in SW PA to visit with and try their bows too.

Offline ChuckC