3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Shaft weight differences  (Read 770 times)

Offline Bill Tell

• Trad Bowhunter
Shaft weight differences
« on: March 05, 2007, 08:18:00 AM »
I am a total newbie to Trad equipment so I have a few concerns with my arrows.
I shoot a 60" Morrison Cougar at 50#/26

I just bought a dz wood arrows from a catalog company and the weight spread was about 100 grains in the dozen.  Five of them are over 500 grains and the other weigh 448 up to 497.

First question.  Is this a normal range for catalog purchased arrows?

Next, how much will it screw me up if I shoot arrows this far apart in weight?  Won't the heavy arrows hit below the lighter ones by a couple of inches?

Third, should I be shooting the arrows below the 500 grains?  I watched a couple of how to videos and they all said shoot at least 10 grains per pound?

I think I already know the answer to this and if I just spent $70 dollars on five usable/correct arrows I will be a little upset.

Finaly could I go from a 125 grain tip to a 175 grain tip on the lighter arrows to make them the 10 grains per pound or will this mess up the spine?  They are spined for 55-60#.

Thanks everyone for any help.
"I'm going to find my direction magnetically. " Eddie Vedder

Online Bigriver

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shaft weight differences
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2007, 08:33:00 AM »
The weight difference would effect my shooting greatly, 50grains means something to me. 5-10grains is hard to say.

Some companys sell wood shafts with a disclaimer in sort of fine print that they do not grain weigh their shafts, I think 3rivers does that?

I have no problem shooting shafts lighter than 500gr with your setup, depends on what you are hunting. Shouldnt hurt the bow any.