3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Broadheads for Turkeys  (Read 436 times)

Offline Friend

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Broadheads for Turkeys
« on: December 08, 2008, 10:34:00 PM »
Started traditional in 1969 and fell into the compound craze around 1977. I have been shooting year around for the past 25 years. My hunting partners shoot traditional and together we work hard at pursuing turkeys. These guys are great at getting close to birds, however their success rate is extremely poor. To better qualify what I mean by ‘great’ is that they average 12 shots a piece during a 3 week season.  They are lucky if they harvest one.  Two seasons ago the one partner shot 16 times with no score. We must have called him Sweet Sixteen until the next season.

For years now, I have wanted to go back to traditional equipment. One of the major hindrances was the witnessing of the low shot to kill rate. I have actually harvested 31 birds, however, they were taken with a compound.  I attribute one significant reason for my success rate increase over the passed 12 yrs was due to switching to a 2 ¾” wide head. My misses have not gone away, however these broadheads have delivered birds 21 out of 21 hits.