3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Beginner Longbow- what to look for?  (Read 357 times)

Offline NewtoTrad2008

• Trad Bowhunter
Beginner Longbow- what to look for?
« on: December 22, 2008, 10:51:00 AM »
I want to get a longbow but I am on a budget (I have to sell my confound first)around $350. I draw 26 1/2" and would like something I can hunt deer and elk with when I get proficient. I don't have any experience shooting one, but I have a real desire to start, they just look so cool! I have a recurve that I am shooting now and love it, but I just can't fight the feeling that I NEED a longbow. I have been drooling over the bows in the classifieds for a couple of months now and I can't stop looking.
Any ideas on where I can sell my compound would be great, I have tried a couple of other sites with no luck.
Any recomendations on what I should look for are welcome!
Kanati 56" 55#@26" missing :-(
Mohawk 64" 60#@28"
Ben Pearson KM Special 50#@28"
Matt

Offline GingivitisKahn

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Beginner Longbow- what to look for?
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2008, 11:05:00 AM »
Originally posted by NewtoTrad2008:
I have to sell my confound first
Hehe - I like that.

You may want to check a few of the threads here about Bear Montana vs. Martin Savannah.  Both are good longbows that fit in your budget.

Offline Gordon martiniuk

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2008, 11:06:00 AM »
one you like whatever feels good in your hands if you plan to hunt get one around 50ish at 28" min as with a 26"  draw you will loose some weight due to short draw,also most long bows are slower than recurves at the same poundage
Gord

Offline Chris Surtees

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2008, 12:12:00 PM »
For your compound look at E@*y