3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Best climber for trad hunting?  (Read 766 times)

Offline razorsharptokill

• Trad Bowhunter
Best climber for trad hunting?
« on: December 27, 2008, 01:11:00 AM »
Been thinking of adding a climber to my collection.
Jim Richards
Veteran

USMC 84-88
Oklahoma Army National Guard 88-89
USMCR 89-96 Desert Storm
Oklahoma Air National Guard 2002- present. Operation Iraqi Freedom 2005(Qatar) and 2007(Iraq),
Operation New Dawn Iraq 2011,
Operation Enduring Freedom 2018 Afghanistan.
NRA Life Member.

Offline Chris Surtees

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Best climber for trad hunting?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2008, 01:59:00 AM »
I have been using a Lone Wolf Sit and Climb for a couple years and really like it. My dad is using a Summit Razor and I have and at times still use a Summit broadhead backpacker which are both quality stands.

Offline Ghostman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2008, 05:50:00 AM »
I hunt 95% of the time with a climber and have 6 climbers in my garage made by Summit, API & Lone Wolf.

IMO nothing beats a Lone Wolf hand climber model. It's not the most comfortable climber I have but it beats the others in portability and quietness. The best feature I like is it doesn't have any parts to interfere with shooting.

Offline Gatekeeper

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2008, 06:52:00 AM »
I have the Summit Viper. This is a quality product and I am able to shoot my 60” bow out of it. This stand does have a bar across the front but I haven’t found it to be a problem. The seat is an all day kind of seat…very comfortable. The stand is aluminum so it’s not too heavy but it is a little bulky when traveling through the timber.
TGMM Family of the Bow   A member since 6/5/09