3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Taming a Shrew  (Read 547 times)

Offline Greg Owen

• Trad Bowhunter
Taming a Shrew
« on: December 31, 2008, 03:29:00 PM »
I just received a Shrew Samurai a few days ago and had a few questions/comments.

1.  I find that acquiring the Shrew was the number 1 problem I encountered with tuning my Bear Montana.

2. I love the grip, but it puts my bow hand so close to the arrow that the feathers blistered the bow hand and then drew blood. But the bow is so fun to shoot, how could I stop. Any ideas how to prevent this from happening?

3. The Shrew seems to be noisier than the Montana. Has anyone tried a 6 strand D97 string with the Shews?

4. I am a newbie but it definitely shoots where you look, its a great bow.

5. This might be related to number 2. My nocking point is at about 3/16ths inch and the brace is 7 inches to the deepest part of the grip. Does this sound good?

Thanks for all your help here. This is a great place to learn.

Greg
Greg  >>>>>--------------->
A Traditional Archer and Vegetarian.

Offline vermonster13

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Taming a Shrew
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2008, 03:37:00 PM »
Nocking point needs to go up. Will get rid of the fletching contact with your hand.
TGMM Family of the Bow
For hunting to have a future, we must invest ourselves in future hunters.

Offline Jack Whitmire Jr

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2008, 03:43:00 PM »
I agree it needs to be about 5/8" above center.
Tolerance is a virtue of a man without any  Morals- unknown author

Offline Izzy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2008, 03:45:00 PM »
What David said.I just corrected that problem with a Griffin in the same manner.

Offline ISP 5353