3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Woodie Shooter... Need Help!  (Read 681 times)

Offline ThePushArchery

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
Woodie Shooter... Need Help!
« on: January 18, 2009, 04:09:00 PM »
I am in quite a predicament. I am new to making wooden arrows and I have encountered a big problem. First let me step you through how I make them.

POC shafts purchased from 3R.
Straighten.
Stain with Minwax.
Straighten.
Stain again w Minwax.
Straighten.

Taper knock end, and glue Bohning 'T' knocks w/ Bohning Fletch Tite Platinum. I make sure to align knock so grain is 90º from string.

Cut to length and taper tip end, and glue tip on with high strength hot melt.

Poly w Minwax spray poly (4 - 5 coats) and straighten between coats.

Fletch and shoot.

My problem is that After about 50 shots to an arrow, the arrow splits at the knock and splits down te center of my arrow, and I align my knocks correctly! I have made about 18 arrows, and 4 of them have done this. They have split at the knock, making my bow feel the energy as if I dry fired it. I have another 18 shafts uncut that quite frankly I am scared to make up. The funny thing is that the arrow splits down the shaft as if the string blows right through the arrow. So it is failing against the grain which seems odd to me.

What am I doing wrong?? Should I be using the hot melt instead of the Bohning fletch tight? Keep in mind I have only used these knocks on all the arrows I've shot, and glued them on aluminums with no problems to date.

I am baffled as to why these arrows are failing like this. Should I scrap the 13-14 made arrows I have left and do something different, or are these arrows salvagable? Any info is greatly appreciated.

Matt

Offline ThePushArchery

• Tradbowhunter