3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: My 8 year old sons first try at making a bow.  (Read 765 times)

Offline wyatts daddy

• Trad Bowhunter
My 8 year old sons first try at making a bow.
« on: March 10, 2007, 10:25:00 PM »
My name is Wyatt. I have been shooting a bow for 5 years. My dad and I have decided we are going to shoot traditional only. I have a recurve that was given to me by a gentleman here on tradgang. My dad made his own bow and I liked it a lot. I asked him to make me one he said only if I help. So together we came up with this riser. It is made of zebrawood and walnut accents. My dad is helping me to write this he said to type, it is 12" from fade out to fade out (what ever that means)ha! ha! My next job is to sand the fade outs very thin like paper. I will take pictures as I go along to show you how I made it. Tell me what you think please.
This is Wyatts dad Bill, I have made my own bow and was wondering if the process is the same just smaller. I was going to help him make it 50" it needs to be around 40# so he can hunt with it, the minimum required here in Arizona. We are using two sets of .060 bocote on the face and the belly and one set of osage .100 both sets are parallel. Does anybody know what size glass I should get to keep the pull around 40#?
Thx Wyatt and Bill

The only thing I love more than hunting is my kids. 6 boys one perfect little girl.

Offline robslifts

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: My 8 year old sons first try at making a bow.
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2007, 10:28:00 PM »
looks like it will be a nice little bow
St. Joe River Bows

Offline wyatts daddy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2007, 12:09:00 AM »